Total Beginners Vietnamese I


In this new set of blogs I will attempt to introduce several languages giving you the absolute basics.

Vietnamese

Vietnamese letters = English equivalent
ch=ch
kh=ch in loch or ch in German
ph=f
nh=n
th=t
gi=j

Hello = Chao ong (to a man) / Chao ba (to a Married woman) / Chao co (to an unmarried woman)

Thank you = Cam on

Toi = I / my
La = to be (is/are/am)
Ten = name

Ten toi la __________ = My name is ___________

(manh) khoe = well / good
khong = question word
Co/Ong/Ba = You (use rules from Hello for which to use)

Ong manh khoe khong? = How are you? (to a man)
Co/Ba manh khoe khong? = How are you? (to a woman)

Rat = very
han hanh duoc = very pleased
gap = to meet
Rat han hanh duoc gap (ong/ba/co) = I am pleased to meet you

khong phai = not
thay giao = teacher/teachers (male)
co giao = teacher/teachers (female)
toi khong phai la thay giao = I am not a teacher
chung toi = we
chung toi khong phai la thay giao = We are not teachers

Co…khong? = question
met = tired
Ong co met khong? = Are you tired?
Toi khong met = I am not tired
Co co khoe khong? = Are you well?
Chung toi khoe = We are well

Day = this
La = is
ban = friend
Day la ban toi = This is my friend

This is a snippet to get you started, I hope that it’s been an interesting insight into the language 🙂

Leave a Reply

