Korean Lesson 35: Noraebang I


[Don’t forget to visit my YouTube page for tutorials on Spanish, Mandarin and Korean: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCe0pYlh0CU9ewkQfh1t3nEQ

Then visit my twitter feed https://twitter.com/Gtlanguages ]

In this new set of posts I will be going through some Korean songs and explaining the grammar and the vocabulary used to help you perfect your Korean and enjoy Modern Korean Pop Music.

Today we focus on ‘Exo-K’ with their song ‘What is love?’

Let’s look at the chorus principally:

“I lost my mind 너를 처음 만났을 때
너 하나빼고 모든것은 get in slow motion
내게 말해줘 이게 사랑이라면
매일그대와 수많은 감정들을 나눠주고 배워가며
싸우고 울고 안아주고
내게 말해줘 이게 사랑이라면”
Right, let’s brake this up into smaller chunks and dissect it a little to show you what’s going on.
I lost my mind 너를 처음 만났을 때
[I lost my mind] no-rûl (you) ch’ôûm (first) manass-ûl (met – past tense) ttae (when) = When I first met you I lost my mind

너 하나빼고 모든 것은 get in slow motion

nô (you) hanappaego (except) modûn gôs-ûn (everything) [get in slow motion] = Everything except you gets/goes in slow motion

내게 말해줘 이게 사랑이라면

nae-ge (me) malhaejwô (tell) i-ge (this) sarang-i-ra-myôn (if it is love) (myôn = if / ira – it is (hearsay) sarang = love) = Tell me if this is love

매일 그대와 수많은 감정들을 나눠주고 배워가며

mae-il (everyday) kûdae-wa (with you) (wa = and/with) su man(h)ûn (numerous / many) kamjông-dûr-ûl (feelings) (del – plural marker / -s) nanwôjugo (sharing) (go = and or a verbal comma = ,) baewôgamyô (and learning) (myô = and) = Everyday, learning and sharing countless emotions with you 

싸우고 울고 안아주고

ssa-u-go (fighting,) ulgo (crying,) anajugo (hugging,) (ana = hug / juda = give / go = and/,) = Fighting, crying and hugging

내게 말해줘 이게 사랑이라면

nae-ge (me) malhaejwô (tell) i-ge (this) sarang-i-ra-myôn (if it is love) (myôn = if / ira – it is (hearsay) sarang = love) = Tell me if this is love

Check out the song on their official Youtube account, courtesy of SM Entertainment, Korea at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t6fPzVNIEB0 and if you like it support the group by purchasing it on iTunes at http://itunes.apple.com/us/album/what-is-love-korea-version/id498450521

Gamsahamnida!


Leave a Reply

