Korean Lesson 21: More basic sentences / In or At / Personal Information


In this lesson we are delving further into the most basic sentence structures in Korean to allow you to build your confidence.  After that we will be looking at simple sentences designed to give information about yourself.

Korean sentences always end in a verb.  Here are some examples:

….-e kayo – I am going to…. 에 가요

….-esø wayo – I am coming from…. 에서 와요

….-esø il haeyo – I work in…. 에서 일 해요

In or At 

There word -esø can mean from or at/in.  If an action is taking place at or in somewhere (I make tea in the kitchen) then use -esø.  Puøk’-esø ch’a-rûl mandûrøyo / 부엌에서 차를 만들어요

If something is just simply located in/at somewhere, use -e (the book is in the kitchen) ch’aeg-i puøk’-e issøyo / 책이 부엌에 있어요

As we can see from the sentences above, the words for in/from/to come just after the word that they precede in English.  e.g. to London = Røndøn-e, from Paris = P’ari-esø. 런던에 / 파리에서

Let’s just take one more look at word order:

ûmshig-ûl møgøyo – I eat food (lit.  Food [obj] eat) 음식을 먹어요

ûmryosu-rûl mashyøyo – I drink a drink (lit.  drink [obj] drink) 음료수를 마셔요

ûmag-ûl tûrøyo – I listen to music (lit.  music [obj] listen) 음악을 들어요

The reason looks so weird to us is that the word order is the opposite to us.  Also, there is no need to put the word for I or You in.  Lastly, the whole idea of recognizing, let alone writing in the object or subject of a sentence is just unnatural to us.  Don’t worry, it does become second nature with practice!

Personal Information

Here are some more sentences to get you talking!  Use this to write a paragraph about yourself and post it to me!  I’ll correct any mistakes.

…-imnida – I am 입니다

…-esø sarayo – I live in… 에서 살아요

…-esø il haeyo – I work in… 에서 일 해요

…-esø kongbu haeyo – I study in/at… 에서 공부 해요

…-esø tae ø nassøyo – I was born in… 에서 대어났어요

…-esø wassøyo – I come from… 에서 왔어요

(koyangi)…i/ga issøyo – I have a…(cat) 고양이… 이/가 있어요

(ke)…i/ga øpsøyo – I don’t have a/any…(dog) 개…이/가 없어요

kajok-e … saram-imnida – There are … people in my family 가족에 … 사람입니다 ***

Chib-ûn …-e wui ch’i hae issøyo – (My) house is located/found/is situated in… 집은 … 에 위치해 있어요

Get writing!

 

*** Use Pure Korean numbers with this expression.

i.e. han / du / se / ne / tasot / yøsot

한 / 두 / 세 / 네 / 다섯 / 여섯

NB If you want to talk about your family with more respect, usually when you are including a Grandparent in the people you consider to be ‘your family’, use those numbers but instead of ‘saram’ put ‘pun’ 분

가족에 __세분__ 입니다 – Kajok-e __se-bun__ imnida = There are __3__ people in my family (More polite)

 

Leave a Reply

