Korean Lesson 20: Ow! That hurts!


[Don’t forget to visit my YouTube page for tutorials on Spanish, Mandarin and Korean: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCe0pYlh0CU9ewkQfh1t3nEQ

Then visit my twitter feed https://twitter.com/Gtlanguages ]

In this lesson we are going to learn about parts of the body and how to say ‘it hurts (me)’.

Click here to view the image and new vocabulary:

몸 pdf

mom = body 몸

How to say ‘it hurts (me)’:

Use the subject marker (i or ga) and then ‘ap’ayo’ / 앞아요

e.g. mori-ga ap’ayo – I have a headache 머리가 앞아요

tari-ga ap’ayo – (my) leg hurts 타리가 앞아요

pae-ga ap’ayo – (my) stomach hurts 패가 앞아요

Remember that there is no obvious object in Korean so the sentences can be translated as follows:

mori-ga ap’ayo – my head hurts / your head hurts / his head hurts / her head hurts / our heads hurt / their heads hurt / 머리가 앞아요

Note the following useful phrases:

tut’øng-i issøyo – I have a headache 두통이 있어요

ødi-ga ap’ayo? – Where does it hurt 어디가 앞아요

apûn – pain 아픈

chønshin-i ap’ayo – It hurts all over 전신

yak – medecine 약

møkta – to eat (here: to take) 먹다

yag-ûl møgøssøyo – I took some medecine 약을 먹었어요

yag-ûl møgø-yagessøyo – I need to take some medecine 약을 먹어야겠어요

al – tablet 알

han al – one tablet 한 알

du al – two tablets 두 알

naajida – to get better 나아지다

naajyøyo – (I’m) getting better 나아져요

møk – throat 목

kasûm – chest / heart 가슴

sogi – heart 속

mørik’arak – hair 머리카락

Translate the following sentences:

1) palgarag-i ap’ayo / 발가락이 앞아요

2) k’o-ga ap’ayo / 코가 앞아요

3) kwi-ga ap’ayo / 퀴가 앞아요

4) nun-i ap’ayo / 눈이 앞아요

5) p’ar-i ap’ayo / 팔이 앞아요

1) palgarag-i ap’ayo / 발가락이 앞아요 / (my) finger(s) is/are hurting

2) k’o-ga ap’ayo / 코가 앞아요 / (my) nose is hurting

3) kwi-ga ap’ayo / 퀴가 앞아요 / (my) ear(s) is/are hurting

4) nun-i ap’ayo / 눈이 앞아요 / (my) eye(s) is/are hurting

5) p’ar-i ap’ayo / 팔이 앞아요 / (my) foot/feet is/are hurting

As you can see from the translations above, you could have put any replacement for (my), i.e. your/his/her etc.

Also, as there is no plural form, it is up to context whether your eye or eyes are hurting.

It is also true to say that the verb is always the same so the following sentence is fine:

‘nun-i hago kwi-ga ap’ayo’ / 눈이하고 귀가 앞아요 / my eyes and ears are hurting. (hago = and / with)

How did you do?  Leave a comment!….

Annyongi Kaseyo!

안녕히 가세요!

Goodbye!


3 responses to “Korean Lesson 20: Ow! That hurts!

  1. A lot of these may be helpful for some learners, but there are some spell checks needed. People will say some of these incorrectly like 앞아요 is 아파요.

    Like

Leave a Reply

