Korean Lesson 15: Likes and Dislikes


[Don’t forget to visit my YouTube page for tutorials on Spanish, Mandarin and Korean: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCe0pYlh0CU9ewkQfh1t3nEQ

Then visit my twitter feed https://twitter.com/Gtlanguages ]

한극을 좋아해요!

In this lesson we are going to learn about how to express basic likes and dislikes in Korean

There are 2 important constructions to learn.  Basically it comes down to whether you ‘like’ a thing (noun) or an action (verb).

Liking objects (chips, meat, TV)

OBJECT + rûl + choa haeyo  (…를 좋아해요)

e.g.

I like dogs

ke-rûl choa haeyo

개를 좋아해요

Liking actions (swimming, reading, sleeping)

VERB (minus the -da/ta ending) + gi + choa haeyo (…기 좋아해요)

e.g.

I like eating (to eat is mokta, so take the -ta off and it becomes -mok)

møkki choa haeyo

먹기 좋아해요

It’s really quite simple.  The construction is the same for ‘dislike’ or ‘hate’

Just replace ‘choa’ with ‘shiro’ 시러

NOUN

I like rice / pab-ûl choa haeyo / 밥을 좋아해요

I hate rice / pab-ûl shiro haeyo / 밥을 시러해요

VERB

I like swimming / suyøng hagi choa haeyo / 수영하기 좋아해요

I hate swimming / suyøng hagi shiro haeyo / 수영하기 시러해요

Try there for yourselves:

1) I like drinking alcohol (alcohol = sul)

2) I like watching movies (movies = yønghwa)

3) I hate listening to music (music = ûmak)

4) I dislike cooking rice (rice = pap)

Answers:

1) I like drinking alcohol

sur-ûl mashigi choa haeyo / 술을 마시기 좋아해요

2) I like watching movies

yønghwa-rûl pogi choa haeyo / 영황를 보기 좋아해요

3) I hate listening to music

ûmag-ûl tûtki shirø haeyo / 음악을 듣기 시러해요

4) I dislike cooking rice

pab-ûl yuri hagi shirø haeyo / 밥을 유리하기 시러해요

Notice how the letters change when you add -ûl.  Remember: l>r   t>d   p>b   k>g

Did you get it?  Leave a comment below and I’ll get back to you ASAP with any help/advice or further practice questions.

안녕히 가세요!

One response to “Korean Lesson 15: Likes and Dislikes

Leave a Reply

