Korean Lesson 3: More about Me! / Reading Passage in Korean


[Don’t forget to visit my YouTube page for tutorials on Spanish, Mandarin and Korean: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCe0pYlh0CU9ewkQfh1t3nEQ

Then visit my twitter feed https://twitter.com/Gtlanguages ]

Here are more sentences to help you engage in a simple conversation.

Let’s start with important info about yourself.

The register chosen is the polite style. As you may be introducing yourself to someone important / senior I have also included the Formal style in brackets. Don’t use this with younger people or equals in your work place.

irum-i mwø-yeyo? (songhami øttøk’e dweseyo?)

che irum-i _________ ieyo – I am called
(irum-i __________ imnida)

ødi sarayo? (odi sarimnikka?)

______-esø sarayo (_____-esø sarimnida)

ødi-esø wassøyo? –  Where are you from? (~~~ wassimnikka?)

…esø wassøyo – I am from… (esø wassimnida)

migûk saram-ieyo? – Are you American? (~~~saram-imnikka?)

aniyo, yøngûk saram-ieyo – No I’m British (~~~saram-imnida)

ne, migûk saram-ieyo – Yes, I am (~~~saram-imnida)

EXTENSION:

If you are already a clever cloggs (tuk tuk haeyo!) then try reading this ‘Advanced’ piece at the bottom.  What information do you recognise and what could you change to talk about yourself?

안녕하세요! 제 이름이 Gareth입니다. 저는 Swansea에 살고 있어요 그리고 Swansea에 테어났어요. 선생님이라서 학교에서 일해요. 저는 프랑스어, 스페인어를 가르쳐요.

관심이 많이 있어요. 요즘은 피안어를 배우고 있어요. 오년전에 한국어를 배우기 시작했어서 요세 잘 해요. 저는 사실에 위국어를 많이 말 해요. 위국어를 정말 좋아해요! 앞으로는 대학에서 한국어, 중국어, 일본어를 정말 공부 하고 싶어요.

축구도 좋아요 그리고 수영에 관심이 있어요. 제일 좋아하는 취미가 독서인데, 재미있어요! 저는 제일 좋아하는 책 한국어에 때한 책이에요.

3 responses to “Korean Lesson 3: More about Me! / Reading Passage in Korean

  1. Annyeong! I wish you can help to give me the translation for the reading in lesson 3. I have tried to read it, but I have difficulties translating into english. Would you pls help me? Thanks beforehand.

    Like

  2. 안녕하세요! 제 이름이 Gareth입니다. 저는 Swansea에 살고 있어요 그리고 Swansea에 테어났어요. 선생님이라서 학교에서 일해요. 저는 프랑스어, 스페인어를 가르쳐요.

    관심이 많이 있어요. 요즘은 피안어를 배우고 있어요. 오년전에 한국어를 배우기 시작했어서 요세 잘 해요. 저는 사실에 위국어를 많이 말 해요. 위국어를 정말 좋아해요! 앞으로는 대학에서 한국어, 중국어, 일본어를 정말 공부 하고 싶어요.

    축구도 좋아요 그리고 수영에 관심이 있어요. 제일 좋아하는 취미가 덕서인데, 재미있어요! 저는 제일 좋아하는 책 한국어에 때한 책이에요.

    Translation:
    Hello! My name is Gareth. I live in Swansea and I was born in Swansea. Since I am a teacher I work at a school. I teach French and Spanish.

    I have many interests. Nowadays I am learning (to play) the piano. As I started learning Korean 5 years ago, I (can) speak it well now (these days). In truth, I (can) speak many languages. I really love languages! In the future I really want to study Chinese, Korean and Japanese at University.

    Football is also good (I like it too) and I have an interest in swimming. My favourite hobby is reading, it’s fun! My favourite books are books about the Korean language.

    [Hope that helps! :-)]
    Gareth

    Like

Leave a Reply

