Spanish Lesson 8 – Likes and dislikes


In this unit we will learn how to describe our likes and dislikes, then justify our opinions.  We will also learn some school subjects.

Me gusta – I like

No me gusta – I don’t like

Me encanta – I love

Odio – I hate

Me gusta bastante – I quite like

Me gusta mucho -I like… a lot

No me gusta nada – I really don’t like

Detesto – I hate

To say WHY you like or dislike something just use the following formula:

Me gusta + porque + es + divertido

I like it + because + it is + (reason)

or:-

No me gusta nada + porque + es + aburrido

I don’t like it at all + because + it is + (reason)

Adjectives

  • aburrido – boring
  • divertido – fun
  • excelente – excellent
  • estúpido – stupid
  • fantástico – great/fantastic
  • chulo – cool
  • la bomba – awesome
  • horrible – horrible
  • un gasto de tiempo – a waste of time
  • estupendo – superb
  • útil – useful
  • difícil – difficult
  • fácil – easy
  • interesante – interesting

School subjects

  • las matemáticas -Maths
  • el inglés – English
  • el español – Spanish
  • el francés – French
  • la educación física – P.E. (Sports)
  • la historia – History
  • la geografía – Geography
  • la religión – R.E (Religious Education)
  • las artes dramáticas – Drama
  • la música – Music
  • las ciencias – Science
  • la tecnología – Technology
  • la informática – I.T. (Computers)
  • el chino – Chinese
  • el ruso – Russian
  • el japonés – Japonese

When the describing words come after a lesson, they need to match it for masculine and feminine.

e.g. La música es divertida – Music is fun

El inglés es divertido – English is fun

Las ciencias son divertidas – Science is fun (literally, Sciences are fun)

Try these (answers next lesson)

1. English is boring

2. I like English because it is fun

3. I hate Chinese because it is a waste of time

4. I quite like R.E. because it is interesting

5. I really don’t like French because it is difficult

6. I love Geography and History because they are useful

 

¡Adiós!

 

Answers from Unit 7:

  1. They are 15 years old
  2. I am cold
  3. You (plural) are hot
  4. He is ashamed
  5. She is scared
  6. We are hungry
  7. They are sleepy

 

Leave a Reply

